Central region

Health Minister Sarubala Tondaiman files candidacy in central region

Health Minister C. Vijayabaskar, AIADMK candidate in Viralimalai constituency, and former Tiruchi mayor Sarubala R. Tondaiman, AMMK candidate in Srirangam, were among the prominent candidates who submitted their candidacy in the central region on Wednesday.

In Tiruchi district, 34 candidates submitted their papers for nine constituencies.

While six candidates each submitted their candidacies for Lalgudi and Musiri, five candidates each submitted their papers for the constituencies of Srirangam and Mannachanallur in the district.

Two candidates each applied for Tiruchi (West), Tiruchi (East) and Manapparai. Thuraiyur and Tiruverumbur received nominations from three candidates each.

In Karur district, a total of 22 candidates applied for four constituencies. While 13 candidates applied in Karur constituency, four submitted their documents for Aravakurichi. Three candidates presented papers for Kulithalai and Krishnarayapuram.

NR Chandrasekar from AIADMK presented documents for Kulithalai constituency. V. Nirosha from AMMK and P. Anbalagan from Bahujan Samaj Party were the other candidates who submitted their papers for the constituency. A. Ilango from DMK was among the four candidates who applied for Aravakurichi.

In the district of Pudukottai, AIADMK candidates for the constituencies of Gandharvakottai, Viralimalai, Pudukottai, Alangudi and Aranthangi have applied.

Seeking a second term in the constituency, Mr. Vijayabaskar arrived at the returning office and divisional revenue officer in Illupur to submit his candidacy, boarding a two-wheeler since the city bus stop.

Other AIADMK candidates V. Karthik Thondaiman (Pudukottai), S. Jayabharathi (Gandharvakottai), Dharma Thangavel (Alangudi) and Mr. Rajanayagam (Aranthangi) also deposited their papers at the returning office.

The DMK candidate for the constituency of Pudukottai V. Muthuraja has submitted his papers. Candidates from Makkal Neethi Maiam, Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam, Naam Tamilar Katchi, Bahujan Samaj Party, Communist Party of India (Marxist – Leninist) Liberation and some independents also tabled their documents in different segments of the Pudukottai district assembly.

In Perambalur district, DMK candidate from Kunnam Assembly District, SS Sivasankar, filed his papers.

In Nagapattinam district, DMK candidate Mr Paneerselvam was among three candidates who applied for Sirkazhi constituency. Mr. Lakshmi, DMK, was among two people who filed their papers for Poompuhar constituency

Nine independents and S. Shamsudeen from the Bahujan Samaj party have submitted their papers for the constituency of Mayiladuthurai. An independent candidate each filed his papers for the constituencies of Kilvelur, Nagapattinam and Vedaranyam.