Central region

NPP retains President Kutin, two others in central region

Robert Kutine

The central regional branch of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has retained Mr. Robert Kutin Jnr as regional president for the third time, along with three others.

Mr Kutin polled 273 people to beat his only challenger, Dr Joseph Kobina Essibu, who won 195 votes in a highly competitive election of regional executives, conducted and overseen by the Dunkwa Nursing and Midwifery College Electoral Commission.

The two outgoing executives who also retained their seats were Richard Takyi Mensah, secretary, who garnered 237 votes to defeat his opponent; Armstrong Esaah, 207 votes.

Ms. Charlotte Adwoa Antwi, the outgoing women’s organizer, garnered 231 votes to beat two others, Ms. Sarah Afful and Ms. Agnes Owusu.

The elections saw six new entrants obtain posts. These are Messrs. Percy Dennis Quaicoo, First Vice President, Michael Mensah, Second Vice President, Charles Kojo Odoom, Assistant Secretary Kenneth Quansah, Youth Organizer,
Anthony Kweku Sackey, organizer, and Francis Asare, treasurer.

Mr. Quaicoo collected 223 votes against his two suitors, Mr. Theophilus Effum Halm and Mrs. Cecilia Koufie.
Mr. Mensah, second vice-president, collected 219 votes to beat two other opponents; Kingsley K. Kakari-Bondzie, 203 votes, the incumbent, and Nana Ama Abrefi, 24 votes.

The post of deputy secretary went to Mr. Odoom who won with 198 votes to beat three other contenders; Mr. Kweku Nyarkoh-Koomson, 184, Emmanuel Oduro Ansah, 62, and Noah Osei Asenso, zero.

Mr. Sackey, had 299 votes to win the post of organizer, beating Mr. Francis Ejaku Donkoh, 147 votes.
Mr Quansah secured 249 votes to win the post of youth organiser, beating Samuel Annobil Baidoo, who had 197.

The post of treasurer was won by Mr Asare with 175 votes, beating Madame Faustina Baah, who won 133, Michael Kyeremateng, 95 and Kwesi Eyi Acquah, 42.

Alhaji Abubakari Osuman won the post of Nasara coordinator after securing 245 votes to beat Alhaji Djabana King Safianu, who had 201.

Mr. Kweku Ofori Asiamah, Chairman of the Regional Electoral Commission, swore in the elected leaders and said that the smooth conduct of the elections showed a united entity, which he hoped would be supported in the larger objective of maintaining the political power in 2024.

Mr. Richard Takyi Mensah, in a victory speech, promised to continue to work with all to consolidate the achievements.

Regional Secretary-elect Mr Takyi Mensah said the research and communication had spurred the victory and was sure this would be reflected in the upcoming elections.

He pledged his unwavering commitment to work with the grassroots to secure victory and regain lost seats in the region.

The election saw a heavy security presence with the venue cordoned off.
Non-delegates and well-wishers filled the College’s main streets, parading banners, posters and flyers of their favorite aspirants.

A total of 28 contenders competed for 10 positions with 454 delegates including the Council of Elders, MPs, Regional Officers, Patrons Council and TESCON representatives.

Send your news to [email protected] and via WhatsApp to +233 244244807
Follow Ghana News on Google New